Distinguished Doer Award: Meet the New HSSU Alumni President

Ms. Sarah Archibald was recently elected as President of the Harris-Stowe State University Alumni Association. A retired highly-experienced educator, Ms. Archibald is a recipient of the Harris-Stowe State University Distinguished Alumni Award and the HSSU “Heart Award.”

Sarah Archibald is the newly elected President of the Harris-Stowe State University Alumni Association. A retired highly-experienced educator, Ms. Archibald was educated in the St. Louis Public Schools at Bates Elementary and Beaumont High School. In 1978, she received her B.A. in Education from Harris-Stowe and pursued further studies at Saint Louis University, University of Missouri-St. Louis, Colorado School of Mines and University of Colorado-Boulder. 

In 1998, Ms. Archibald retired from teaching in the Denver Public School and returned to St. Louis. This year, 

She and her husband, W. Reese Archibald, celebrated 42 years of marriage.

Since 2009, Ms. Archibald has served the Harris-Stowe Alumni Association in several position: Corresponding Secretary, Chair of the Nominating Committee, member of the Membership Committee, member of the HSSU Recognition Luncheon Committee, member of the HSSU Homecoming Committee, representative of the HSSU Homecoming Parade, and participant in the HSSU Student/Alumni Meet and Greet.

Through the years, Ms. Archibald has received several prestigious recognition awards. While a teacher in Denver, she received the Harrington Elementary School Teacher of the Year Award, the Cole Middle School Teacher of the Year Award and nominated State Teacher of the Year. She is a recipient of the Harris-Stowe State University Distinguished Alumni Award andthe HSSU “Heart Award.” While a student at Harris-Stowe, Ms. Archibald was crowned Ms. Harris-Stowe State University. She was also a student academic scholar and named to the Harris-Stowe Dean’s List

Ms. Archibald is a member of Shalom Church City of Peace. She has been a supporter and volunteer of several community organizations including St. Louis Black Rep Theater Company, the North County Chamber of Commerce as well as a participant in the Neighborhood Association/Neighborhood Watch. 

Established in 1980, the Harris-Stowe Alumni Association awards scholarships to HSSU students and provides financial and physical assistant to support activities for the development of Harris-Stowe. Past Alumni Association Presidents include Dr. Lynn Beckwith, Jr., Wilzetta Bell, Shirley A. Brown, Darius Chapman, Candace Dickerson, Chester Himes and Dr. Celertine B. Johnson. 

Members of the HSSU Alumni Association Board of Directors for 2023-2025 include Dominic Avant (Vice President), Shannon Johnson (Corresponding Secretary and Nominating Committee Chair), Bennie Gilliam-Williams (Treasurer) and Dr. Robert Kamkwalala (Financial Secretary). 

Also, Dr. Neidra Butler (By-Laws Chair), Kanitha Byars, Pamela Anita Mary Davis (Brown and Gold Gala Chair),

Sharnice Frazier-Boyd (Parliamentarian and Archive Chair), Shaneil Gowe (Courtesy Committee Chair), Sherry McIntee (Scholarship Chair), Tyrone Martin and Nia B. Smith (Membership Chair). 

Founded in 1857, Harris-Stowe State University has a proud tradition of excellence in higher education and has proudly served the region for over 166 years. Dr. LaTonia Collins Smith is President of Harris-Stowe.  Mr. Jeffrey Shaw is Vice President for Institutional Advancement/Executive Director, Harris-Stowe Foundation.  Harris-Stowe State University is one of two HBCU institutions in Missouri.

Nominate a Doer: To keep readers informed on who’s who in the community, Shirley A. Brown’s regular column in the St. Louis Argus newspaper highlights a community “Doer.”  A “Doer” is an individual, company, or organization committed to making St. Louis a better place to live and work. Readers are invited to send “Doer” recommendations to Ms. Brown.  Send to sbrown601@aol.com or contact Ms. Brown, 314-367-8739.  


On Key

Related Posts

Duckworth announces $500,000 to boost workforce development in East St. Louis, Chicago
U.S. Senator Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) Originally published for Illinois Business Journal/Staff On Nov. 30, 2023, U.S. Senator Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) announced $500,000 she secured through a Fiscal Year 2023 Congressionally Directed Spending (CDS) Request will be sent by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Employment and Training Administration to Illinois’s Revolution Workshop to help support its […]