Signs That You’re Transitioning To Another Stage of MS

Learn about the stages of multiple sclerosis, the increased risk among Blacks, and how to effectively manage symptoms. Stay informed and proactively manage your health.

When my cousin died of multiple sclerosis, I didn’t really see the signs until it was too late. Sure she was mid-sized woman, in her late 40’s, and she did smoke and drink. But she’d worked a lot, and at the time, she operated a successful merchant business, after her divorce.

She was a strong positive woman, who went to church, and took great care of her college bounded sons. At some point, I knew the divorce had taken its toll on her, yet she carried on.

I was reading on a site I am subscribed with, Black, and here is the latest report on MS:

Research shows that Blacks may develop multiple sclerosis more often than previously thought. Additionally, the symptoms of the disease can progress more quickly or have a higher severity. Still, there are a few general principles that hold true when it comes to the stages of the disease. If you know what to expect with each stage, you’ll be able to identify the difference between when your multiple sclerosis is progressing and when your symptoms need to be managed more effectively

The Different Stages Of Multiple Sclerosis

There are currently four different stages of multiple sclerosis.

The first is called clinically isolated syndrome (CIS) and in some cases, isn’t considered to be a true diagnosis of the disease.

The second stage is relapsing-remitting MS (RRMS), in which people experience a distinctive cycle of relapses and remissions with their symptoms. It’s estimated that over 80 percent of people are officially diagnosed at this stage.

The third stage is secondary-progressive MS (SPMS). At this stage, there are fewer instances of remission of the symptoms of multiple sclerosis.

Finally, the fourth stage is primary-progressive MS (PPMS). This form of the disease is rare, however, as it only affects approximately 15% of people who have MS. In this stage, the disease progresses quickly with no periods of remission. 

The two factors to look out for when your multiple sclerosis changes are the progression of your symptoms as well as the cycle of remissions and relapses.

Typically, people move from stage 2 to stage 3 of the disease. In stage 2 (RRMS), you’ll have periods of

remission followed by relapses or flare-ups.

Over time, the symptoms you experience during a relapse may worsen or the flare-ups may start to last longer.


On Key

Related Posts

Joggers preparing to run on fitness trail
Do you have a pair of shoes you’ve been holding onto for years? Learn why it’s important to know when to let go and how to choose the right shoes for your workout.
A womans Feet suffering from Bunions
Healthy feet are happy feet and one sign that your feet might not be too happy are bunions. The large bumps that form on the side of your big toes can be extremely painful and can potentially lead to arthritis. Here are 5 exercises to relieve bunion pain.